Researching your family tree history (genealogy)


Marie Maddock from the State Library of SA shared these valuable links with us in the ALA webinar on researching your family history.


For beginners

State Library of South Australia – http://www.slsa.sa.gov.au
Genuki – http://www.genuki.org.uk/
National Archives of United Kingdom http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/records/quick-animated-guides.htm
Family Search Learning Center – https://familysearch.org/learningcenter/home.html
Ancestry ancestral chart – http://www.ancestry.com.au/trees/charts/ancchart.aspx
Ancestry family group sheet – http://www.ancestry.com.au/trees/charts/familysheet.aspx
Births, deaths and marriages
South Australian indexes – http://www.genealogysa.org.au/
New South Wales portal – http://www.bdm.nsw.gov.au/
Queensland indexes – https://www.qld.gov.au/law/births-deaths-marriages-and-divorces/family-history-research/
Colonial Tasmanian Family Links –http://portal.archives.tas.gov.au/menu.aspx?search=8
Victorian indexes – https://online.justice.vic.gov.au/bdm/index-search?action=getHistIdxSearchCriteria
Western Australia – http://www.bdm.dotag.wa.gov.au/F/family_history.aspx?uid=8948-7352-6630-2234
Western Australia reverse marriage index – http://www.wamarriage.info/
Family Search – www.familysearch.org

Cemeteries

Australian Cemeteries – http://www.australiancemeteries.com/
Internment net – http://www.interment.net/aus/index.htm
Centennial Park South Australia – http://www.centennialpark.org
Adelaide Cemeteries Authority – http://www.aca.sa.gov.au
Metropolitan Cemeteries Board Western Australia – http://www.mcb.wa.gov.au/Index.aspx
Canberra’s Public Cemeteries – http://www.canberracemeteries.com.au
New South Wales cemetery inscriptions – www.familysearch.org
Queensland cemetery records 1802– 1990 – www.familysearch.org

Military

National Archives of Australia – http://www.naa.gov.au/
Australian War Memorial – http://www.awm.gov.au/
SA Memory – http://www.samemory.sa.gov.au/site/page.cfm?u=1027
Australian Light Horse Association – http://www.lighthorse.org.au/
Commonwealth War Graves Commission – http://www.cwgc.org/
Defence Honours and Awards – http://www.defence.gov.au/MEDALS
Convict transportation registers database – http://www.slq.qld.gov.au/resources/family-history/info-guides/convicts
Victorian government gazette online archive –http://gazette.slv.vic.gov.au/
Western Australian post office directories – http://www.slwa.wa.gov.au/find/guides/wa_history/post_office_directories
Public Record Office of Victoria – http://prov.vic.gov.au/
State Records of New South Wales – http://www.records.nsw.gov.au/
Picture Australia – http://trove.nla.gov.au/picture
Family history South Australia – http://www.familyhistorysa.info/
Cora Web: Websites for genealogists – http://www.coraweb.com.au/

Newspapers

National Library of Australia Trove – http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper
Ryerson Index – http://www.ryersonindex.org/
Papers Past (New Zealand) – http://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/cgi-bin/paperspast
Cyndi’s list – http://www.cyndislist.com/
Free BMD (England & Wales) – http://www.freebmd.org.uk/
Scotland’s people – http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
National Archive (England) – http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/default.htm

Pay Sites

Ancestry.com.au – www.ancestry.com.au
Find My Past Australia – www.findmypast.com.au
Find My Past (UK) – www.findmypast.co.uk
Find My Past Ireland – www.findmypast.ie
The Genealogist.co.uk – http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/
Genes Reunited – http://www.genesreunited.co.uk